Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
help needed: integrate tank_auth into my website

[eluser]lolmann[/eluser]
hello,

i've tested and liked the (tank) <a href="http://codeigniter.com/wiki/The_Auth_Library/">auth library</a>.

i am fairly new to ci but have read the user guide and understood the principles of mvc programming.

still, i struggle with some basic issues and one of them is integrating the auth library into my website.

the library comes with a controller. when i call it like this http://localhos/auth it works just fine. it displays a login form, logs me in, end so on.

but how do i use the power of the library without calling the controller /auth?

say, i have a website that displays a little login form at the top of each page. creating the form in html is no problem but auth actually needs some data (for example, the variable $login_by_username) in order to determine whether a user can login by username or only by email. how do i get this data?

i get that i have to somehow load the tank_auth library in my main controller which I did ($this->load->library('tank_auth')Wink but it doesn't solve the problem.

can anybody help?

[eluser]Victor Michnowicz[/eluser]
I have had good luck with Ion Auth. It has some really good documentation too.

[eluser]lolmann[/eluser]
thank you elvicmic, i'll have a look at that.

but if it's possible i would like to stick with tank_auth because it seems to be very powerful.

to be clear: the problem here is not one of tank_auth (I think) but rather my understanding of how to use libraries correctly in an existing website.

[eluser]Victor Michnowicz[/eluser]
Glancing at the Tank Auth source, I am guessing it would prolly go something like this (untested):

In your controller:

Code:
function __construct()
{
$this->load->library('tank_auth');
}

function login()
{
$username = $_POST['username'];
$password = $_POST['password'];

if ($this->tank_auth->login($username, $password, TRUE, TRUE, FALSE))
{