Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to keep paragraph breaks

[eluser]Mike Cocklin[/eluser]
Ok,

I am new to CI but I really love it already. I guess I am missing something but here is my problem.

I have two text areas that I am posting to fields in my database. If I create paragraphs within the text boxes and save them to the database and look at the raw value of the field I get the folowing

'This is the second paragraph. It will let me know what happens now. Maybe it will look really bad.\n\nI really hope it doesn\'t as i don\'t know what i will do if it does.'

Note the \n\n

When i echo this back to a view I can't see any paragraph breaks Sad What am I Missing?

Any Help would be much appreciated

[eluser]Alexandru M.[/eluser]
Try applying nl2br to the textareas' content before inserting , that should do it. "\n" is the new-line character in windows , but to see new lines in html you need the <br /> tag.
Code:
$data = nl2br($this->input->post('my_textarea'));
Then continue with the insertion in your DB.

[eluser]techgnome[/eluser]
Or... do it on the way back out of the database. I prefer to store the raw text in the database... makes editing easier later... then do the html encoding when displaying it.

-tg

[quote author="techgnome" date="1286696374"]Or... do it on the way back out of the database. I prefer to store the raw text in the database... makes editing easier later... then do the html encoding when displaying it.

-tg[/quote]

I prefere that idea. How do i do this on the way out?

What i mean is, this field becomes part of an array in my controller

Code:
$data['monthlyTheme'] = $this->newspaper_model->GetThisTheme($options = array('theme_date' => $thisMonth, 'theme_group_id' => $theme_group_id));

in my view it is displayed in a for each loop

Code:
&lt;?php if(isset($monthlyTheme) && is_array($monthlyTheme) && count($monthlyTheme)>0):?&gt;
&lt;?php foreach($monthlyTheme as $item ): ?&gt;