Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How to do proper templating with Codeigniter (and library/plugins?)

[eluser]fdgsuhofdshjdfgh[/eluser]
Hi, I'm brand new to codeigniter and while I'm not stupid I do struggle to grasp concepts (this is my first go at MVC, although I'm "experienced" with Normal PHP -- used it for many years now) and as such I need good examples that are well explained (that's why I chose CI as it has the best documentation) but I'm struggling to find any good examples of how to template properly.

I've taken a look at the <a href="http://philsturgeon.co.uk/code/codeigniter-template">codeigniter-template</a> library created by Phil Sturgeon but I'm still not 100% what I've supposed to be doing.

Would anyone be able to give me a brief explanation of how I would handle having a globally included header file with a footer file too? I know I could just load them as views before and after I do the controller defined output, but this seems mighty impractical and <i>wrong</i>. I looked at the codeigniter-template library (as linked above) but it doesn't explain how I use themes well enough (for me anyway, maybe I'm missing the obvious).

Examples and explanations would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
I haven't used Phil's library myself, so I can't comment on that. I have used Colin Williams' library. He has a decent user guide online with a step-by-step guide. I'm sure must of it can be applied to Phil's library as well.

[eluser]fdgsuhofdshjdfgh[/eluser]
This Library is fantastic, the documentation is much better and it seems more versatile. Thanks WanWizard, I've played with it and all works well! :-)

[eluser]pickupman[/eluser]
Another vote for Colin's template library. Phil's got some great code, but I tried his as well and opted to go with the other.

[eluser]Vheissu[/eluser]