Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
question about pre-loading libraries in constructors

[eluser]b.rad[/eluser]
Newbie here. I started pulling together an application about a year ago with some success, but had to put it down; I'm restarting and basically relearning from scratch.

As training wheels, I'm walking through this recommended demo re: building an app from scratch.
http://www.phpandstuff.com/articles/code...ignup-form

Problem is, I'm seeing inconsistent behavior with what is described, and I've been digging around for a while now without finding answers....so I figured I'd turn to the forum.

In the demo, the author suggests pre-loading libraries in the __constructor function, as per this simplified code example:
Code:
<?php

class Signup extends Controller {

public function __construct() {
        parent::Controller();

$this->load->helper(array('form','url'));
        $this->load->library('form_validation');
    }

public function index() {
        $this->load->view('signup_form');
    }

}

The problem is that the helper and library are never loaded. I have to add the library call directly to the index function in order to get the form_validation working, and as I extend the demo I'm having to put it in other functions as well. This seems incorrect, but I can't figure out what's going wrong. In the comments to the article someone else had the same problem...

So the question is, how do I correctly pre-load libraries into a controller, such that those libraries can be successfully used in all other functions. The expected behavior would be this:
Quote:Note: When you load Helpers and Libraries inside the Constructor, they become available in all methods of that Controller. For example, now index() function can use them. Note2: When Views are loaded, they also can use the Helpers and Libraries that the Controller had loaded.

I'm sure I'm missing something trivial, but I'm probably not the only one with this problem.