Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Creating a timer-driven app

[eluser]bientek[/eluser]
I'd like my app to continuously check a database every minute to see if it should send out new emails. What's the best way to implement this in CodeIgniter? So far, I have considered a separate controller that gets initiated and managed independently of user sessions by an admin; it has an infinite loop with a 1-minute sleep, checking to see if there is any database input to act on, like new emails or admin instruction to start or stop.

See any problems with this approach, or perhaps a better implementation? I'm new to CI, so thanks for your help!

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
Use a cronjob, and call the controller from the commandline?

Also make sure you have the logic in place to deal with concurrency. What if processing the data lasts longer than one minute, so the second process starts while the first is still running?
If you design this correctly, you're solution is much more scalable as well (more email to send? Just start multiple processes).

[eluser]bientek[/eluser]
Is a cronjob simply a possible alternative, or better?

I did not consider concurrency. Good point!

From a development point of view, a cron job follows the flow of a normal URL request, so it's easy to implement, less complex then looping, and also less complex to stop once it's running (how do you currently stop a looping process?).

[eluser]bientek[/eluser]
Currently I would check the DB each loop for a STOP flag.

[eluser]smilie[/eluser]
Regarding concurrency, set somewhere in a table sort of 'config' / 'ini':
runnning 1 / 0 and each start of a cron should check there to see if it is not already running.

Cron is simply easiest / best way to do it :-)

Cheers,
Smilie

For these kind of processes I use a message queue.