Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Counting comments for blogitem

[eluser]Rein Van Oyen[/eluser]
Hi there CI-community,

I'm new to CodeIgniter and I absolutely love it. Altough, I bumped against a first problem. (Oh well...or lack of knowledge on my end). I'm making a simple blog and I want to count the comments for each blogitem. I have three tables. One for the blogentries, one for the categories and one for the comments. Now what I have is a simple model which returns the blogentries.
Code:
function get_entries($limit='') /* gets a list of blogitems, limit can be specified */
    {

if(empty($limit)){
            $this->db->select('*')->from('blog_entries')->join('blog_categories', 'blog_categories.category_id = blog_entries.entry_parent_id')->order_by('entry_id','desc');
            $query = $this->db->get();
        }
        else
        {
            $this->db->select('*')->from('blog_entries')->join('blog_categories', 'blog_categories.category_id = blog_entries.entry_parent_id')->order_by('entry_id','desc')->limit($limit);
        }

return $query;
    }

I also have this simple code in my commentmodel which returns the comments for the detail page of the blogposts:
Code:
function get_comments($parent, $parent_id)
    {
        $query = $this->db->get_where('comments', array('comment_parent_id' => $parent_id, 'comment_parent' => $parent));            
        return $query;
    }

Now for the blog-listing I want to show the amount of comments for each blogpost. What is the best way to accomplish this? I can't seem to find out how to get the commentscount inside of my loop (in the view).

Thanks in advice,
Rein

[eluser]LuckyFella73[/eluser]
Are you looking for this ?
Code:
$this->db->where('comment_parent_id', $parent_id);
$this->db->from('comments');
$this->db->count_all_results(); // number of comments related to one blockentry

First of all; thanks for your fast reply!

It is not really what I meant. I'll make myself clear. Smile