Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Load a page like "$_REQUEST"

[eluser]Raffaele[/eluser]
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie with CI and I am trying to do the porting of a website from its "old style" to CI, but I wouldn't like to change all the website's structure.
I have some questions about the links.
My actual situation is an index page with header, footer and menu, that has a central area where a traditional
Code:
require($_REQUEST['page']);
is done. The menu links are all like
Code:
index.php?page=myPage
How can I do the same thing with CI ? Using views and controllers... ?
Thanks in advance for your help.

[eluser]Rob @ iFetch[/eluser]
If you don't want to change the links on your page, I would suggest creating either a controller for each page, or a central 'page' controller, and having a function for each page. Then just have a .htaccess mod_rewrite set up to redirect your current URL to a CI-friendly one.

I.e.

Controller: page
Function: myPage

URL (in browser): http://mysite.com/index.php?page=myPage
URL (as redirected by htaccess) http://mysite.com/page/myPage

Thanks for your help.
I can change the links, no problem. What I wouldn't change is the actual "structure", where I have the index page that "hosts" the content in its designated area.
I can change the menu's links if it is necessary to better achieve the MVC paradigm and the CodeIgniter way of making links.

What I am missing here is where and how I have to put the "p=MyPage" variable to pass it to the View.
e.g. in the index View I have to write something like $this->load->view(MyPage) where MyPage changes every time. Is this variable passed by the Controller of the other pages or by the Controller of the Index page or what else?
thanks again

[quote author="Raffaele" date="1292593106"]Thanks for your help.
I can change the links, no problem. What I wouldn't change is the actual "structure", where I have the index page that "hosts" the content in its designated area.