Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Form Validation and xss_clean

[eluser]Madmartigan1[/eluser]
Is there any reason to use the xss_clean validation rule on data that, after being processed by the other rules, should be clean already?

Example:
Code:
// is this redundant?
$this->form_validation->set_rules('email', 'Email', 'valid_email|xss_clean');

// what about this?
$this->form_validation->set_rules('name', 'Name', 'exact_length[1]|xss_clean');

I've recently had to turn off global xss filtering, so this has become an issue.

I accidentally typed XXX_clean a minute ago :lol:

[eluser]Eric Barnes[/eluser]
In that context it is not redundant because valid_email does not check for xss_clean. If you are later using active record to insert or update then it would be as active record runs xss_clean.

If the email is valid, how can it be dangerous? I'm no security expert...

Quote:If you are later using active record to insert or update then it would be as active record runs xss_clean.

Not following you there. Can you clarify? I always use active record and it does not xss_clean by default afaik. I ran into this when I had to edit templates and allow <scri*pt> tags.

Good call. I thought active record did xss_clean but it just automatically escapes.

Now I haven't tested this by any means but the valid_email only does a single regex to verify it is an email. So I would imagine things like
Code:
% 77 % 77 % 77 % 2E % 67 % 6F % 6F % 67 l % 65 % 2E % 63 % 6F % [email protected]
may still pass.

Edit: had to add spaces to get it to show.

Yes that will pass the regex, and it is a perfectly valid email.

The point you make about escaping is important for injection security.