Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
How would I go about creating a persistent header in CI?

[eluser]_just_me[/eluser]
Hi All,

I'm quite new to both PHP and CI and so far am overwhelmed and endeared by the amazingly helpful community that both have. Therefore I'm hoping to gain some insight into a problem that will presenting itself to me very shortly...

I've just started building an application and wrestled for a few short buy enjoyable hours integrating the ion_auth framework (kindof successfully), and now stuck with where to go with my next issue. I intend for users to play music files on site, but instead of directly in page or as a popup window, I'd like to use the header section to accept the chosen file, display some of its details along with a player and be persistent site wide.

For example, a user sees a track listed on the homepage, wants to play it, clicks play and asynchronously it is positioned and begins playing in the header. Now the user wishes to go to the forums so they click the forums link from the navigation and are taken there, but I don't wish for a page reload as this will stop the track that is playing, so this is where I'm stuck.

The typical load view section of a controller of mine looks as below (which I understand to be fairly standard :

$this->load->view('inc_header');
$this->load->view('home',$data);
$this->load->view('inc_footer');

Could anyone shed some light on how I ought to be going about this in CI?

I'd love any help.

Wow, quite an essay - I apologise, though wished to express my issue in full detail.
Cheers,
Matt

[eluser]Madmartigan1[/eluser]
My first few websites were music sites, and I had to do this. Have a look at some examples. (Warning: Music will play automatically)

http://curtramm.com/
http://loukoumband.com/

The sites were small enough that I could just load every page with AJAX. If your site won't be able to hang with that, these are the other options I can think of:

1. Frames (yuck)