Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
installing CI

[eluser]Hasn[/eluser]
Hi Everyone,
I know this might be a very simple question, but I am new to CI and I have tried looking for the right answer before posting anything here..

I installed Apache2 on a Linux VM machine,
I have created a virtual host called www.test.com
I have linked the url to the folder /home/www/www.test.com/htdocs which is where all the web files of this website stored.
so now when I navigate to the http://www.test.com I get the files in that folder..

Now to install CI I copied (System, user_manual, and index.php) all to the /home/www/www.test.com/htdocs folder
and changed the url_base in the application/config/config.php file to http://www.test.com and even tried just test.com
and both are not working..

When I navigate to http://www.test.com/index.php I get a blank page so I am concluding that the installation of CI is not correct..

I believe I am missing something simple somewhere,
would highly appreciate any help or comment
Thanks

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
For one, you also need to edit the index.php file and set the
system and application folders.

InsiteFX

[eluser]Hasn[/eluser]
Hi InsiteFX,

Thanks for your reply,
those files are set up by the index.php, I assume bcoz both index.php and those folders are in the same folder so their names should be correct.

Even after I read your post, I edit it and gave the full path for both files and still not working..

I know this must be a very simple thing that I am missing but seems very hard to me to find it..

any other suggestion would be highly appreciated

Cheers

[eluser]bl00dshooter[/eluser]
Since you said you installed Apache2 manually...

Have you actually installed PHP and is running it? PHP doesn't come with Apache.