Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Correct Validation Procedure for Forms and AJAX - Is this the right or the wrong way?

[eluser]porangi[/eluser]
Hi,

I'm new to CodeIgniter and am just wanting to make sure I get the whole form validation process correct. This is how I see it:

1) User completes form and submits it.

2) Controller validates the form including xss_clean
Code:
function comment_validate() {
        $this->load->library('form_validation');

//Validate Fields in the order of field name, error message and validation rule.
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('title','title', 'trim|required|min_length[5]|max_length[128]|xss_clean');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('author','author', 'trim|required|min_length[1]|max_length[25]|xss_clean');
        $this->form_validation->set_rules('body','body', 'trim|required|min_length[5]|xss_clean');

return $this->form_validation->run();
    }

3) If validation passes calls the model.
Code:
function comment_insert() {
        //Run validation and check response
        if ( $this->comment_validate()== FALSE) { //Fail return to form
            $this->comment_new();
        } else {  //Validation Success - go ahead and insert record
            $this->load->model('blog_model');
            if($query = $this->blog_model->comment_insert()) {  //True redirect to success page.
                redirect('blog_admin/comments');
            }
        }
    }

4) Model constructs the insert array from the INPUT fields and passes it to the Database:
Code:
$new_update_data = array (
            'post_id' => $this->input->post('post_id'),
            'title' => $this->input->post('title'),
            'body' => $this->input->post('body'),
            'author' => $this->input->post('author'),
            'pdate' => $this->input->post('pdate'),
            'published' => $this->input->post('published'),
        );

$this->db->where('id', $this->input->post('id'));