Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Is it just me, or do Helpers and Active Record add more work than they save?

[eluser]TheActionCombo[/eluser]
First, I'm kind of new to CI so please set me straight if I'm not understanding something correctly.

I've been looking though many of the Helpers as well as the Active Record class in the user guide, and it seems like they don't actually speed up development, but actually slow it down.

Looking at certain HTML Helpers such as the URL helper and Form helper make me wonder "What's the point?" Using the helpers not only requires you to learn how to use them, but they're pretty much much the same amount of code as doing it the "long way". That said, a lot of the non-HTML helpers do seem pretty useful.

Active Record also perplexes me. Why write multiple lines of code defining each part of an SQL query when you can just write out the query on one line? For example (taken from the User Guide):

$this->db->where('name', $name);
$this->db->where('title', $title);
$this->db->where('status', $status);

// WHERE = 'Joe' AND title = 'boss' AND status = 'active'

Can someone explain why/when I would want to use Active Record over simply writing out the SQL query?

Just trying to understand certain parts of the framework better.

Thanks.

[eluser]Rick Jolly[/eluser]
For the most part, I agree with you about helpers.

As for Active Record, to be fair, the equivalent query without AR would look more like this:
Code:
$sql = "...WHERE name = ? AND title = ? AND status = ?";
$this->db->query($sql, array($name, $title, $status));

[eluser]Référencement Google[/eluser]
I personally do like that, I feel things are more clearer than repeating the where statement:

Code:
$where = array('page_ID'  => $page_ID,
               'language' => $language,
               'active'   => 1);

$query = $this->db->getwhere('cme_pages', $where);

[eluser]schnoodles[/eluser]