Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Can't extend CI_Controller

[eluser]Lukas1[/eluser]
Hello, I am using CodeIgniter 2.0 and I am new to the framework. I tried extending the CI_Controller class and it works for me on my computer using Wamp. But when I upload my project on other servers, I get this fatal error:
Fatal error: Class 'MY_Controller' not found in [PATH]

I don't understand why is this happening, my extended controller is in /core folder(not /libraries), the prefix is correct and it works on my computer, so I don't know, why it doesn't work on other servers(I tried 2 different servers). Does anyone have any idea, what could be my problem?

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
Check to see if your server is lowercase sensitive if so then all filenames need to converted to lowercase!

InsiteFX

[eluser]Lukas1[/eluser]
my filename is lowercase.. I tried to rename the file to MY_Controller.php with no success

1) Did you change your index.php file to point to where your system and application folders are located?
2) Did you change application/config/config.php to the correct base_url ?

If you have an .htaccess file try removing it!

InsiteFX

[eluser]Lukas1[/eluser]
Hello,

1)I haven't changed the index.php file, but since I didn't change anything at all with the folder structure, I don't think this is the issue. If I indeed should have changed something in index.php, this should have been documented and I haven't found anything like this mentioned in documentation. If such thing would affect extending core classes, this should have been documented in the extending core libraries section(now it is not)
2)Yes, I've done that, but I don't see, how that is related, that's only URL and URL is not the deciding factor in finding path to core classes
3) I don't use .htaccess file for now, since I am only starting with my project, playing with CI etc...