Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Howto change site uri segment based on database input?

[eluser]bronco[/eluser]
Hi there,

I'm new to CI and have a question about creating a view in runtime named after data from a database... like on a blog.

example scenario: user clicks on a link -> a view should be filled with database input. the site uri should change to domain/site/entry-from-database

how do I implement that? my first thought was to use a function in the corresponding controller to load the data from the model to the view. but how can i affect the last site uri segment to be named after of the fields from the model and not the controller function?

I checked the documentation and couldn't figure out how to do this, the search on the forums didn't bring up matching results for my problem.

Thanks in advance.

[eluser]ddutra[/eluser]
Bronco, hi.

Lets say you have a domain called www_broncoblog_com, and you want the user to access stuff from user profiles, right, but you want the URL to contain the User's name?

I would simply create a controller named user, and a function named profile($login), so profile receives login as a parameter and look on the database, serving the profile info, like name, address, and werever you need.

www_broncoblog_com/user/profile/bronco -> This will serve bronco's profile
www_broncoblog_com/user/profile/ddutra -> This will serve ddutra's profile

Code:
Controller {
function profile($login) {
query database;
serve data loading view;
}
}

Notice that in this sample you have 3 levels after the baseURL, one being the controller name, the other being the function name and the rest are the parameters.