Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Session Bug? When setting CI custom session info I get "Message: Cannot modify header information ..."

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to CI, been working with PHP for a while though.
I am moving a website from smarty to CI. I am trying to use CI sessions and I am getting a weird error, let's see if I can explain it clearly.

I have created a parent Controller class for all those Controllers which can have methods that require login.
My parent class looks like this:
Code:
<?php
abstract class LogController extends Controller {

function LogController() {
    parent::Controller();
  }
  abstract function needsLogin ($method);

function _remap($method)
  {
    if ($this->needsLogin($method))
    {
      $this->session->set_userdata('test','1');
      echo 'test';
    }
    else { $this->$method();}
  }
}
?>

And I have some controller that looks like this:
Code:
<?php
include_once('logcontroller.php');
class TestController extends LogController {

private $loginMethods = array("method1");

function TestController() {
    parent::Controller
  }

function needsLogin ($method) {
    if (in_array($method,$this->loginMethods)) return true;
    return false;
  }

function method1() {
    // do whatever
  }    
?>

The problem I have is that when I try to set the session variable on the parent class (inside the _remap method) I am allways getting an error like this:

Message: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\CIPATH\system\application\controllers\logcontroller.php:18)
Filename: libraries/Session.php
Line Number: 295

The line number of Session.php that apparently is generating the error refers to a setcookit function call.

If I do the same setting in the child class instead (i.e. setting the 'test' session variable inside the needsLogin method of TestController class) everything works fine.
Any idea why this is happenning?