Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Just a little help before i start using codeigniter!

[eluser]hali6sic6[/eluser]
Hi, I'm an html/css designer with a week knowledge of php and i would like to know some things before i start learning codeigniter

1-What level of php is required for creating pro level applications with codeigniter
2-can i do this with codeigniter:
photo contests
calendar/events
user articles
user news
user photo albums
did you know section
picture of the day
recommended locations (this is a hiking website and I want users to have the ability to recommend places for other users on a public page, where everyone can see)
location of the week (this in case "recommended locations" is possible and votable, and based on the votes a location of the week will be determined)
forum
user stats: all activity

Thank you in advance!

[eluser]darrentaytay[/eluser]
Codeigniter has no limitations - anything you can do in PHP can be done in Codeigniter, it's simply a framework for you to build your applications on in a structured and organized way using the MVC design pattern.

There are alot of tutorials out there for Codeigniter which run you through the entire process of building a blog, for example.

The best point of reference is the unrivalled Codeigniter Userguide ( http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-guide/ )

Thank you! That clears up a lot of things for me but unfortunately I'm not a good php programmer frankly i can almost say don't know php so would you recommend me learning php first or diving in to codeigniter and learn along the way?

I couldn't answer that I'm afraid - I really don't know what the best way forward would be.

For a beginner, the idea of MVC (or Object Oriented Programming) might be a little tough to grasp so it might be worth while getting a good PHP book or something first and working through it.

[eluser]atno[/eluser]