Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Create new page?

[eluser]eperez[/eluser]
A friend create a website for some software I made, towards the beginning of the year. Since I'm not a web developer, I'm having a hard time figuring everything out.

I'm trying to create a new web page. And in doing so, I just copy the code I've seen everywhere else through out the site, but with the new page's name. But that didn't work.

If I wanted to create a link to the "download.php" page, all I'd have to do is create an anchor with that name, but without ".php."

Code:
a href="download"Download

And if I wanted to link to my FAQ page, I'd do the same, but also put "info" in there since it's within the "info" folder on my server:

Code:
a href="info/faq"FAQ

So, copied one of the pages, renamed it to "albums.php" and put it in the "info" folder. I then created an anchor for it:

Code:
a href="info/albums"Photo Albums

But all I get is a 404 when I click the link. So, I thought there was maybe another file somewhere on the server that handled the URIs like this. I've been through a couple that appeared to be what I was looking for, like "routes.php" and "url_helper.php." But after looking through these files, I didn't see any thing that the original guy would have coded, in order to link URIs together.

Anyone have any ideas?

[eluser]theprodigy[/eluser]
Make sure your 'albums.php' file contains at a minimum code that looks like:
Code:
<?php
class albums extends CI_Controller //Check the other files to see what they are extending, and extend the same thing (like MY_Controller or something)
{
    public function __construct()
    {
        parent::__construct();
    }
    public function index()
    {
        //This is for 'info/albums'. It gets called when nothing comes after 'albums'
    }
}
?>

[eluser]eperez[/eluser]
[quote author="theprodigy" date="1306116334"]Make sure your 'albums.php' file contains at a minimum code that looks like:
Code:
<?php