Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
database load issue

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I've seen several threads on this question, but there does not seem to be a consistent fix (any many of the questions are terribly written). It's also unclear if the problem is always user-build specific. Like many of the others running into this problem on the forums, I'm new to Code Igniter, but I'm loving the idea of a MVC framework. I'm running this locally on a MAMP build with PHP 5.3.5, mysql 5.5.9 and CodeIgniter 2.0.2. In the following I try to be as thorough as possible to narrow down where the error is happening.

I'm getting a blank page when I load a database connection, but otherwise my code works fine. Here is a simplified version of my code:
BlogTest.php
Code:
<?php
class BlogTest extends CI_Controller {
  public function index() {
    $this->load->model('Webtest_model', 'webdb');
    $html_input['base_subjects'] = $this->webdb->get_root_subjects();
    $html_input['title'] = "my title";
    $html_input['realhead'] = "This is code generated!";
    $this->load->view('testview.html', $html_input);
  }
}
?>
testview.html
Code:
<html>
<head>
  <title><?php echo $title;?></title>
</head>
<body>
  <h1>&lt;?php echo $realhead; ?&gt;</h1>
  &lt;?php echo $base_subjects; ?&gt;
&lt;/body&gt;
&lt;/html&gt;
webtest_model.php
Code:
&lt;?php
class Webtest_model extends CI_Model {
  function __construct(){
    // Calling Model constructor
    parent::__construct();
  }

function get_root_subjects() {
    $this->load->database();
    //$query = $this->db->query('SELECT * FROM subject_def');
    //$query = $this->db->get('entries', 5);
    //return $query->result();
    return "coming from model";
  }
}
?&gt;