Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Some basic question abt codeingniter and any framework

[eluser]Tanvir[/eluser]
Hello, I am completely NEW to codeingniter or any framework. I have some basic questions-

1. What is the difference between class reference and helper reference and plugin ?

2. Where can I get and how to use codeigniter plugins ?

3. Why use some classes in codeigniter when PHP itself has ways of handling it, e.g.date, calendar,file uploading etc.

4. If I want to use any third party web template in codeigniter, How can I use that ?

5. Dont u think using MVC framework requires some extra coding overhead, now I need a separate file for displaying, for controlling and for db modeling for the same webpage.

[eluser]jblack199[/eluser]
1. helpers is a simple class of function used to 'help' you do repeated tasks over and over. libraries are similar in that respect as well. models are more generally used on a per-page basis to put all your code in one place ie: login_user() function or other functions for the different pages.

2. the forums have helpers/libraries on it, but to my knowledge there isnt a master list of them anywhere.

3. while you can do things in php, using the classes keeps you with the OOP programming, and has all the data handling already programmed which means less time programming and bug tracking.

4. third party web templates can be used easy enough, since your view files have your html in it. there are ways of using a header.php, footer.php and a template.php to use the same header/footer for every page in a site.