Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best Encryption Method?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hey, guys.

I'm fairly new to CI, but even newer when it comes to general security measures.

What's the best way to encrypt important information in CI such as user passwords?

From what I understand, my main 3 options are:

- $this->encrypt->encode($password)
- $this->encrypt->sha1($password)
- $this->encrypt->md5($password)

Also, are the two last methods above any different from using PHP's default sha1 and md5 functions? Or are they the same thing?

Cheers!

[eluser]derBobby[/eluser]
[quote author="PhilTem" date="1322120378"]Correct me if I'm wrong, but it's actually working on two projects I worked on Wink[/quote]

But on that way - as administrator - you will be able to decrypt the password of any user?

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
Hashes are one-way encoded, you can not decode them.

And you should not want something else. Passwords are personal property, like the pincode on your creditcard. Not even an administrator should be able to have access to them.

As for password hashing, going method these days is:
- use a sufficiently random salt
- use a different salt for every user
- use either pbkdf2 or bcrypt to hash the combination of password and salt
- use a sufficient number of iterations (for pbkdf2 at least 10.000)

And if possible do not process passwords on a frontend machine.

Instead, use an API call to a secure server, pass the userid and password entered, and return an allow or deny. This way, if your frontend is compromised, the hacker will never be able to access the algoritm used, and the actual user data, because access is limited to what the API exposes.

You can do that with a standard mechanism like OpenID or OAuth2, or design your own API (but make sure it's secure if you do).

[eluser]Patrick Spence[/eluser]
[quote author="WanWizard" date="1351896655"]Hashes are one-way encoded, you can not decode them.