Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Practical problem in implementing MVC with CodeIgniter

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hello,

I'm trying to keep this post short so I'll jump right in.
I'm new to MVC/CodeIgniter, currently on the learning process. I have a major issue in how to implement the following:

-webpage with a lot of different modules (e.g.: login, etc.)
-many of the modules have their own submit button and complex behaviour
-many modules will use JavaScripting to simulate drag&drop;, or alerting etc.
-this JavaScript code goes in the View, as it has nothing to do with any content/ data, it simply makes the page easier to interact with/ read; correct?

>> How do I do this in terms of MVC design? <<

I want to implement all modules separately.

This is a problem to me because I know I shouldn't call Controllers from Views, and also I don't want to have one single huge Controller which passes tons of data to a single view, because it will become very hard to maintain/ re-use that code.

I was thinking each module should somehow have a separate View and maybe even Control, but then how do I exactly glue all of those pieces together in CodeIgniter?

Thanks

[eluser]tonanbarbarian[/eluser]
Some MVC frameworks have things called Partials or Elements. These are like mini views that can be included in other view.

I did a quick look on the wiki but cannot find the code example for it used perviously.

Basically you create a new plugin or helper

application/helpers/elements.php
Code:
&lt;?php
if (!defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');

function renderElement($view, $params, $display=false) {
  static $CI = null;
  if ($CI===null) $CI =& get_instance();

$return = $CI->load->view($view, $params, true);
  if ($display)
    echo $return;
  else
    return $return;
} // renderElement()
?&gt;