Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Uploading file suggestions

[eluser]veledrom[/eluser]
Hi,

I've a file upload script which uploads files into <b>.CI root./application/uploads/</b> folder and its permission is set to <b>0777</b>.

1) Is this secure approach?
2) Can someone view content of this folder from web?
3) <b>.CI root./application/uploads/</b> is good place or <b>.CI root./uploads/</b> or no difference at all?

Thanks

[eluser]meigwilym[/eluser]
1) Not very, you could try 0755 or 0775 in testing. I'm not an expert here so I can't contribute much.

2) Yes, but it's your webserver that's responsible for what's displayed. If you copy one of the standard index.html files there it would be a start.

3) Technically no difference. If you want the files secure then write them outside of the webroot, i.e. a sibling directory to your .CI root directory.

Mei

[quote author="meigwilym" date="1328046004"]3) Technically no difference. If you want the files secure then write them outside of the webroot, i.e. a sibling directory to your .CI root directory.[/quote]

OK lets say I did. Can I build the hyperlinks (<b><a>Click to see your file</a></b>) to those files afterwards, if I want users to to be able to see what they uploaded before?

[eluser]meigwilym[/eluser]
No. If you want to link, then they'll have to be in the webroot, and therefore "unsecure". If you want to secure them, you'll need an auth system to create temporary files (with the originals outside the webroot) for your users.

Mei

[eluser]louisl[/eluser]
Safest bet would be to keep them outside the web root then make a downloader checkout CI's download helper.

[quote author="louisl" date="1328115136"]Safest bet would be to keep them outside the web root then make a downloader checkout CI's download helper.[/quote]

Hyperlink was going to download those files anyway so, if keeping the files outside of root folder and making them downloadable then this solves my problem.