Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
When to Build your own Library ?

[eluser]vincej[/eluser]
I'm building an order processing system - it needs to send automated emails from 5 different locations in the app. The part of me that wants to do things 'correctly' says I should be extending the email class to accept parameters from the 5 locations and to store an extended email class into a library.

I have read the user guide thoroughly on Libraries. Given I have never done this before there is a clear learning overhead. I don't really understand how best to pass parameters from multiple sources into 1 instance of 'sendmail()'

The other part of me says to heck with it. I will just place 'sendmail()' into my controllers 5 times and update the parameters in each ... easy.

What is the best practice ?? Where si the dividing line when good programmers go 'easy' or 'hard' ?

I guess if there was a great tuorial with examples that would make things easier too - as the user guide is limited.

If there are any resources I shoud look at or ideas - as ever I am Very Gratefull !

[eluser]smilie[/eluser]
Well, basically you have couple of options;

as you already mentioned:
1) to place sendmail() in 5 places;
2) to create own library.

But you could also:
3) extend CI email class with your own;
4) create helper which will handle things for you.

Concretely I have used an e-mail helper; simply create helper which will accept different params, processed them and at the end send e-mail. Then in the 5 places in your code just call helper with the params.