Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter For Commercial Purposes

[eluser]mcarroll[/eluser]
Greetings,

I am new to CodeIgniter, but I'm considering using it to build a commercial eBay like marketplace. Would you experienced CodeIgniters recommend using this framework in a large-scale commercial system? Or would you recommend a more mainstream commercial solution?

Some concerns I have in general include: security, scalability, and time to market. The little bit I've seen of CodeIgniter makes me think time to market would be very short, but the security and scalability are concerns for me with an open source, easy to learn/use framework.

Any advice, anecdotes, explanations would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Matt

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
my 2ct's:

I miss the relation between open source and concerns about scalability and security. Are implying that closed source solutions are more scalable and secure?

One could argue that een open source product has to be inheritely secure because everyone can see the code, there is no "security through obscurity". And if an issue is found, it can be reported and dealt with. And you can see the result of that. You'll never know that with a closed source solution.

As to scalability, it is my experience that the choice of development framework is only a small factor in that equation. For an application to be truely scalable, scalibility has to be part of the architecture and design from day-one. Any framework can be scalable, only the amount of hardware to achieve your goals might differ.

Time to market largely depends on the complexity of the application, the skills of the workforce at hand and the time they have available. Also a "client" that doesn't change his requirements every five minutes would be handy. Choose the correct development methology, so you can adapt quickly to changes in the requirements, and deliver the application in multiple steps (look for example into extreme programming).