Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Problem linking assets [solved]

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I am feeling really stupid now! I am just getting into CI, but for some reason I cannot for the life of me figure out what I am doing wrong while trying to link Javascript files. I have been searching the forums and trying different things. I have tried a couple of different things, from changing from absolute to relative links, relative to the front controller, relative to calling view (which I thought I remember being wrong, but tried it anyway), and I even used a couple of asset management helpers and plugins. Nothing has worked, which makes me think I am missing something major, and probably immediately evident to others.

Anyway, I just went back to trying to directly link them myself. Here is what I have now, which is what was suggested in several threads I found:

Code:
<!DOCTYPE html>
&lt;html&gt;
    &lt;head&gt;
        &lt;title&gt;&lt;?php echo $title; ?&gt;&lt;/title&gt;
        &lt;meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8"&gt;
        <scr+ipt type="text/javascript" src="&lt;?php echo base_url(); ?&gt;assets/jquery.js"></scr+ipt>        
        <scr+ipt type="text/javascript" src="&lt;?php echo base_url(); ?&gt;assets/page.js"></scr+ipt>
    &lt;/head&gt;
    &lt;body&gt;
        Testing.
        <div id="thing"></div>
    &lt;/body&gt;
&lt;/html&gt;

The jquery.js file is an uncompressed jQuery 1.7.2 file.
The page.js file is just a JS file with an alert in it being used to test.

The base_url set in my config.php file is: 'http://localhost/cijquery/index.php/' (I have not removed the index.php from the URL with .htaccess due to wanting to get this resolved first)

Here is the controller code calling this view:
Code:
&lt;?php
    class Users extends CI_Controller {

public function __construct() {
            parent::__construct();
        }

public function players() {
            $this->load->helper('url');