Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
constructor names

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]

Hey everyone,

My first post Smile I have decided to learn CI and web-development - I'm new to this world, but not new to the world of programming.

I am trying to follow the blog tutorial posted on this website and they create a class constructor with how I would expect it to be, e.g. public function Blog(). When I did it - didn't work. So, after some googling, it turns out to have this format - public function _Construct() .

It seems to be that all constructors of all controllers will have exactly the same name - _Construct(). Now, that's kind of strange to me - it appears to be that the constructors in web development and constructors elsewhere (say desktop and mobile apps) are two different things.

So, please help me understand here - seems to me that OOP is not heavily used in web-development? Or even completely replaced by MVC and the "constructors" are not used to create objects, but rather just initialize default variables? But then again, the constructor inherits from the parent - so there are some inheritance patterns used. Also, if I'm correct - e.g. no OOP - wouldn't it be more useful to initialize variables in the index() function and abandon constructors completely?

Thank you,

[eluser]CroNiX[/eluser]
Creating a constructor named the same as the class name was the old php4 way of doing constructors. Until CI2.0, CI had a backwards compatibility layer that allowed you to use that (or php5 style), which has since been removed in favor of using PHP5 constructors (__construct()) and removing the old php4 compatible code.

You can read more about the native PHP5 __construct() on the php site.