Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Models for Dummies

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I am new to CI development, and really loving the framework. I have some knowledge about the MVC pattern, and i understand (not fully) how to controllers and view work in CI.

However i have problems understanding the idea with Models, why are they important? I could load my queries in the controller, and serve a view with he SQL results.

I would really appreciate a "for-the-amateur" explanation for the Models, and even better a simple example how to build a simple model, and use it in the controller.

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]Stefan Hueg[/eluser]
Hi and great to have you on board,
as you should already know MVC is the separation of control logic (controller), data sources (models) and presentation (views).

By doing so (and separating special parts into libraries and helpers) your code becomes reusable. The MVC Pattern forbids classes of the same type to communicate with each other (models -> models, controllers -> controllers etc...), so yeah you could put a database query in your controller but:

-it will never be reusable again
-you'll mess your code up

A model is a generic data source. Admittedly, most people use it for database access, but it is not limited to that. A model could also provide access to an API (like a wrapper), JSON data, XML data etc. and does all the work to return the data in a format which your controllers and views can work with.

It even makes collaboration more efficient.

I hope this makes it clear.

[eluser]boltsabre[/eluser]
Stefan gave a good technical overview, but I once read a good example, restaurants with psychic powers:

Model = Kitchen/Chefs
Controller = Bar/Waiters
Views = Customers

Lets say in this hypothetical situation, waiters can actually read the mind of the customers, and know what they want/need.