Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Validation errors when using redirect instead of loading a view...

[eluser]jay2003[/eluser]
Hi,

I am creating a small CMS and am giving the user the ability to add items such as contact form and login form etc to any page which means that for the validation errors I have to use a redirect instead of loading a view (and hence losing the validation errors and form contents errors during the redirect).

I have googled and it looks like i have to use flashdata but am unable to get it to work.

Does anyone have an example of this?

I have tried

Code:
$this->session->set_flashdata('errors', validation_errors());
redirect($redirect_to);

Where $redirect_to is the page the form was submitted from.

It is redirecting but losing the values and not showing an error.

I am pretty new to php and CI so any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Jason

[eluser]CroNiX[/eluser]
Flashdata lasts for exactly 1 request then it disappears (by design). Make sure the request isn't encountering any 404's or other redirects or that will count as the request and dump the flashdata.

[eluser]InsiteFX[/eluser]
You could also try:
Code:
$this->session->keep_flashdata('item');

Which will keep it for another one!

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
What you do is regardless of where the form is, the action is sent to its own page, such as mysite.com/login or mysite.com/contact

Then, if the form doesn't process properly, it loads that page with that specific form, along with any appropriate errors and/or info.

Then, you can save their originating page if you'd like to redirect back upon successful submission.

[eluser]skunkbad[/eluser]