Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Database password with MD5

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi All,

I am new to PHP and CodeIgniter.

I was wondering is it possible to use MD5 in database config file ?
I am not comfortable to have plain text save in the config file.
I know that I have to limit access and secure the config file, but still would be better possible to make it harder to read the password.

Thanks.

[eluser]Stefan Hueg[/eluser]
You can only use reversable encryptions. MD5 is a hashing algorithm so it won't work as you will never get the original password back.

But anyhow: If you encrypt your database password and someone gets access to your CI files, he will see the config, and how it is encrypted, what the password is (as you have to decrypt it...) so you won't gain any advantages with this approach.

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
Passwords should always be hashed (= one way process), not encrypted.

The most secure way to hash at the moment is using bcrypt or pbkdf2, and combine the password with a random salt for added security.

Ideally a per-user salt, even more ideally regenerated after each login, but if not possible a generic salt stored in a config file or a settings table (or combine the two).

[quote author="WanWizard" date="1335956878"]Passwords should always be hashed (= one way process), not encrypted.

The most secure way to hash at the moment is using bcrypt or pbkdf2, and combine the password with a random salt for added security.

Ideally a per-user salt, even more ideally regenerated after each login, but if not possible a generic salt stored in a config file or a settings table (or combine the two).[/quote]

Read his post carefully, he was talking about database config files Wink

*** hides in a corner... 8-/

Encryption, no matter which form, is always a problem due to the impracticalities.