Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
First mini app--Please offer constructive criticism

[eluser]echo_boom[/eluser]
This is my first attempt at MVC coding/scripting--please be kind. I would like some guidance on ANYTHING I could be doing better.

I have posted 4 files to github: gist:

1 Controller: ‘main.php’
https://gist.github.com/2651546

2 Views: ‘control_panel.php’ and ‘main.php’
https://gist.github.com/2651569
https://gist.github.com/2651579

1 helper extension file: ‘MY_file_helper.php’
https://gist.github.com/2651556

This mini web application allows a user to upload an image. It will then check to see if the image has greater width than 405 px and also that it’s aspect ratio is 1:1 - 3:2 for landscape OR 1:1 - 2:3 for portrait. If the image meets that criteria it will then resize the image down to 405px width using
$config[‘master_dim’] = ‘width’;

I am trying to create a control panel page for users in a hypothetical company where it displays their avatar and allows them to upload a new image.

I have not included any database interaction yet. I plan on adding this once I know I’m on the right track. After I add the database interaction, I will ask once more for some constructive criticism, but I pick things up relatively quickly and I’ll probably be bothering everyone on the forums much less after that.

Please help and I appreciate all those who spend even 1 minute helping me. Thank you!

[eluser]Rok Biderman[/eluser]
It looks perfectly fine to me, except I would use flashdata to send the error info to control panel and then redirect rather than just load the view. You might have other functions in the panel that expect the whole control_panel method invoked and this is a good way of futureproofing.

Thank you for the feedback Smile.

So I read up on what you suggested: Flashdata (Session Class) and redirect function (URL helper), but was confused on how it could be implemented in my situation.