Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Quick help with .htaccess needed

[eluser]snarkq[/eluser]
Hey guys, thank you for reading and understand I have been hacking away at this for many hours and look forward to learning from your assistance!

Problem outline:
1) I have been working on my CI website for a few months under a subdirectory with the structure www.site.com/beta/index.php?/controller/function etc..
2) I am trying to setup .htaccess files to allow www.site.com/controller/function etc..
3) I would like to keep all of my CI files in the subdirectory so that I can just change the htaccess to a different subdirectory, essentially changing the site in one stroke and having it invisible to the users

Problems I am experiencing:
1) Going to www.site.com does NOT work, but www.site.com/controller DOES work
2) After any redirect()'s the site changes to www.site.com/beta
3) echo site_url and echo base_url are all www.site.com/beta
4) Forms do not work - they try to access www.site.com/beta/form. If i change it to www.site.com/form (for logging out as an example) it works.

Any idea what is going on? This mismatch is hard to pinpoint. I am familiar with RegEx but unfamiliar with .htaccess.

The following are my two .htaccess files. The first is in the web root, the second is in the subdirectory.

www .htaccess:
Code:
#Options
Options -Multiviews
Options +FollowSymLinks

#Enable mod rewrite
RewriteEngine On
#the location of the root of your site
#if writing for subdirectories, you would enter /subdirectory
RewriteBase /beta

#Removes access to CodeIgniter system folder by users.
#Additionally this will allow you to create a System.php controller,
#previously this would not have been possible.
#'system' can be replaced if you have renamed your system folder.
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} ^system.*
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /index.php?/$1 [L]

#Checks to see if the user is attempting to access a valid file,