Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
how to secure an admin backend?

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
hey Smile

i'm an experienced php programmer and have some OO knowledge, but i'm new to CI, and have a wee problem.

i've been asked to maintain and expand an existing site that is powered by CI. i've been doing ok so far and have managed to expand on the existing CRUD-style admin section and have added a few ci-powered public pages with CRUD admin pages backing them up

however, there's an inherent security flaw in the web app's existing adminsection - it's not password protected in any way :o

could anyone point me in the direction if a tutorial or a set of libraries that do such a thing? from what i can see, 'sentry' looks like an option, but does anyone on here have any ideas about achieve to do this?

if it helps explain the situation, code for the public pages is contained within the usual folders:

application/controllers/
application/views/modules/

(there are no models)

furthermore, the application/views/ folder has a file called loader.php in it:
Code:
<?php

$this->load->view('layout/header');
    $this->load->view('modules/'.$module.'/'.$view_file);
    $this->load->view('layout/footer');

?>

the admin section's files are contained in:

application/controllers/admin/
application/views/admin/modules/

again, the application/views folder has a admin.php in it:
Code:
<?php

$this->load->view('admin/layout/header');
    $this->load->view('admin/modules/'.$module.'/'.$view_file);
    $this->load->view('admin/layout/footer');

?>

also, for example, the public 'news' page is available via the url /index.php/news

the admin section for the 'news' page is available via the url /index.php/admin/news

all this seems to work fine, apart from the lack of any security on the admin pages...

is there any way of adding directory security to the admin pages?