Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Confused about which view method is being called in Tutorial - Static pages [Solved]

[eluser]Sameh R. Labib[/eluser]
BTW I'm new to CI.

The CodeIgniter User Guide Version 2.1.0 has a tutorial called Static pages. In this tutorial a controller is created called Pages. Pages has a method called view. Here is the tricky part. The view method has a statement which calls the view method on $this. Yet I don't believe that is the view method which is really being called. The reason I believe this is because I've seen the same statement in other tutorials which don't name the Pages controller method view.

My question is as follows. I know the code works but how does it have this statement which calls view without calling itself? Furthermore, how is it calling the correct view method?

Here is the code:

Code:
<?php

class Pages extends CI_Controller {

public function view($page = 'home')
{

if ( ! file_exists('application/views/pages/'.$page.'.php'))
   {
     // Whoops, we don't have a page for that!
        show_404();
   }

$data['title'] = ucfirst($page); // Capitalize the first letter

$this->load->view('templates/header', $data);
   $this->load->view('pages/'.$page, $data);
   $this->load->view('templates/footer', $data);

}
}

The statement I'm referring to could be any of those which call the view method such as:

Code:
$this->load->view('templates/header', $data);

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Read more of the user guide besides the tutorial Smile http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...views.html