Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Redirect all URL requests to only one controller

[eluser]pedsa[/eluser]
I'm new in CodeIgniter but I loving it!
I would like to know if it is possible to redirect all URL requests to only one controller (ex: front_controller.php). With this approach I can control all requests and can call the page content directly from the DB without having to define several controller with different names.

For instance,
what I have:
www.mysite.com/about //need a about controller
www.mysite.com/contact //need a contact controller

what I need:
www.mysite.com/about //call the front_controller and this controller loads the about content from DB
www.mysite.com/contact //call the front_controller and this controller loads the contact content from DB

[eluser]gRoberts[/eluser]
You need to create "routes" within your /config/routes.php file.

i.e.

Code:
$config['default_controller'] = 'front';
$config['about'] = 'front/about';
$config['contact'] = 'front/contact';

see http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...uting.html for more information

[eluser]WanWizard[/eluser]
Or simply are a route for ":any" that routes to 'front/index', and use the URI class to determine what segments are present and which data to fetch from the database.

[eluser]pedsa[/eluser]
[quote author="WanWizard" date="1338218328"]Or simply are a route for ":any" that routes to 'front/index', and use the URI class to determine what segments are present and which data to fetch from the database.[/quote]

Thank you.

Here's the solution like you said:

In application/config/routes.php
Code:
$route['default_controller'] = "front_controller";
$route['(:any)'] = $route['default_controller'];

In application/controllers/front_controller.php
Code:
class Front_controller extends CI_Controller {

public function index() {
$argv = $this->uri->segment_array();
$argc = count($argv);
echo "<br>Number of segments = ".$argc;
echo "<pre>";
print_r($argv);
    }

}