Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Can't get a view to load

[eluser]OldRodKS[/eluser]
I am really new to CI, so I'm sure I am missing something really basic here... but I cannot get a view to load when I call a function directly from a URL.

I am working on a user registration system. The system sends an email to the user with an activation URL that looks like this:

Code:
http://localhost/ci_bannor/register/email_verification/6b84c572efd

Inside my register.php controller, I have a function called "email_verification" that is shown below:

Code:
public function email_verification() {
  $verifcode = $this->uri->segment(3);

if ($verifcode == '') {  // no verification code - show error page
   $this->load->view("vVerifyError", $data);
  }

I put echo statements in here at various places to track down what's going on. $verifcode is getting the proper part of the URL like it should. When I have a code there, I can echo it out. When it's not there, it goes into the if block like it should, but it simply won't load the view. I don't get an error, it just doesn't load.

What am I doing wrong?

[eluser]TWP Marketing[/eluser]
Code:

Do you have the var $data defined? I realize you are not posting all the function code, but that could cause a problem if not defined in your controller function

Yes, $data was defined, but I've been removing stuff trying to get down to the root of the problem.

The line posted above should not have the ",$data" in it.

It still doesn't work though Smile

Code:

if ($verifcode == '') {  // no verification code - show error page
  }

The uri function segment() returns FALSE, so your if statement will miss it if the verify code is not in your URL. Try
Code:
if ($verifcode == FALSE){

No change.

Here is how it looks now:

Code:

if ($verifcode == FALSE) {
   echo "Verification code is blank";
   $this->load->view("vVerifyError");
  }