Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Remember Last Page Visited... How?

[eluser]dhall[/eluser]
I am new to website dev so sorry if this is a basic one.
I am building a member site that has a page that can be viewed by the public with limited functions.
If a user goes to that page not logged in, then clicks on the LogIn, redirects them to the LogIn page, once they are logged in I want to take them back to the page they were just on.

How do I do that? I am sure it has some fancy name, but I don't know it.
Thanks for the help!

[eluser]term25[/eluser]
You can save the last url before redirect to login page using database.

So, what would you do is basically save every IP in a table (before you can make a check if it already exists, then you rewrite it) with the last URL before entering Login area.

After successfuly logging in, you can redirect to the last recorded URL.

In my opinion this is the best approach.

There are some libraries for CI that can remember e.g. last 3 urls etc, but the problem with them is that for example if you have 5 steps(pages) login , they are useless.

So, the best technique I know about is to save all urls the visitor (their IP address) visits before entering e.g. http://www.example.com/login

After entering (in this controller "login") http://www.example.com/login you stop recording/saving their url.

You can make an if condition for directly entering login page to redirect the user to homepage etc.

You can e.g. do not log/save logged in users to save some performance of your server etc.

Hope it somehow move you in the right direction.

[eluser]dhall[/eluser]
I never thought about saving it in the database... interesting...

What are the CI Built-Ins that can track this?

I don't think I really need more than 1 page to remember.

Thanks for the thoughts!

[eluser]rwestergren[/eluser]