Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Controller, view question...

[eluser]mrh[/eluser]
Hello all,

Please forgive if this has been asked (probably many times)... I've searched and not seen the answer to this very simple and probably idiotic question... I do understand MVC and I've been using OOP for many years but I am new to PHP and CI... My question is this:

For each view, I have a controller. for example:

adminlogin - controller
adminlogin_view - view

adminportal - controller
adminportal_view - view

I also have a data model for getting stuff from the database. My question is this:

In my adminlogin controller index() function I load the adminlogin_view. This displays a username/password field. The submit button is set to call adminlogin->submit(). In this function I see if the username and password are correct using a function from the model. If they are correct I want to send them off to the adminportal view where they have functions to update/edit and do admin type stuff.

So in submit() I am doing the following if they validate ok (correct username/password)

Code:
$name = $this->input->post('userName');
$pass = $this->input->post('userPass');
$adminID = $this->data_model->checkAdminlogin( $name, $pass );

if( $adminID>0 )
{
// This session data is vital to allow the admin_portal to function
$this->session->set_userdata( 'axID', $adminID );

// Count applications that exist
$data = array();  

// Get application data
$appCount = 0;
$appData = array();
$this->data_model->getApplicationsData( $appCount, $appData );

$data['appCount'] = $appCount;
$data['appData'] = $appData;

// Setup menus for this view - No highlight
$menuData['menus'] = self::constructMenu( "" );

// Load the view
$this->load->view( 'header', $menuData );
$this->load->view( 'adminportal_view', $data );
$this->load->view( 'footer', $menuData );
}