Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Access Codeigniter functions from external script

[eluser]drkameleon[/eluser]
Hi guys! I'm new to CI, so this question may sound silly, but anyway...

So, here's my situation :

- I have a complete app set up with CodeIgniter.
- I'm initiating a background task, running a PHP script.

My question :

- How could I use CodeIgniter function/object (e.g.
Code:
$this->db
or
Code:
$CI->db
- doesn't matter) from that external PHP script?

Basically, what I mainly want to do now is access the db.

----

Idea : Could a workaround, like include 'index.php'; at the top of the script do the trick?

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Why can't your background task be part of your CI app?

[quote author="Aken" date="1343722036"]Why can't your background task be part of your CI app?[/quote]

Well, I'm all ears if you have any suggestion on how I could do this.

Here's what I'm basically trying to do (=current approach) :

- from page A : user completes a form and initiates an ajax request.
- this ajax request sends all form input to an intermediate script (let's call it interm.php)
- interm.php initiates a background task (php script) - let's call it background.php and returns a tracking number.

e.g.

Code:
$command = "/usr/local/bin/php /public_html/r/path_to_baackground.php $params > /dev/null &";
exec($command);

What I want to do is :

- have background.php running in the background and update a tracking value (somewhere in the db?)
- keep sending ajax requests from page A, to some progress-tracking script, and show the progress
- when background.php has finished, show the results

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
I guess that depends on what your "background.php" script is supposed to do. I was under the impression you were just trying to run a cron or something to a particular URL. I don't mess around with exec() myself.

[eluser]astroanu[/eluser]