Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Insert into multiple tables.

[eluser]Ralanyo[/eluser]
I'm new to ci and this is probably an easy question.
I am building an app with a relational MySQL database.

I've been able to display data from related tables via the use of an active record join, but how do I insert into into related tables?

Do I need to learn to use an orm, can it be done with joins, etc...can it be done with active record or do I need to use SQL? Any help would be appreciated. Sorry for the newbie question.

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Regarding the query itself - if all of the information you are inserting is brand new (non-existent in the DB anywhere), then you cannot insert into multiple tables at the same time through a single query. You can, however, use transactions if your DB supports them, to prevent any partial inserts or most weird happenings should any part fail.

See the first few StackOverflow article results here for some good information.

An ORM might have some built-in solution that helps keep your code clean, but essentially does either multiple queries or a transaction. That's an option, but I don't know of any specific ORMs that do this off the top of my head (I am unfamiliar with most of them).

[eluser]Ralanyo[/eluser]
Thanks for the reply. I've been doing some research and there are a bunch of different opinions. Transactions is one that i found. I guess an orm makes it easier to work with table relationships.

My database is myisam right now and that doesn't support foreign keys. I know it's not that difficult to change the database to innodb, but I was wondering if others are developing without foreign key relationships somehow. easy to display with a join, but not so easy with inserts , updates and deletes.