Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Best practce for calling functions between models

[eluser]mact1079[/eluser]
Since I'm pretty new to MVC frameworks...

I have a Users_model function addUser which inserts a user record into the User table based on the info they inputted in the registration form.

I also have a Invites_model functions createInvite and addInvitewhich creates and inserts an invitation record into the Invitations table for the same user.

I want all this to happen when the user creates an account.

Is it ok for me to call the Invites_model function from the Users_model to complete both table inserts?

[eluser]TWP Marketing[/eluser]
So long as you load both models in your controller or by the autoload file. A model is just another class to CI, so no harm, no foul.

[eluser]PhilTem[/eluser]
I'd suggest using libraries in this case maybe a library called 'registration' that takes care of all stuff that has to be done on user registration.

And that's also what libraries are most used for: More than one model necessary then use a library Wink

[eluser]mact1079[/eluser]
Hmm ok, I guess two different opinions there. Is that the best practice rule to apply? If I have to use more than one model then I should move those functions to a class in the libraries folder and do it all there? Or do you have any other rules of when to use libraries to guide me?

http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...aries.html is useful in telling me how to use custom or native libraries but I'd like to make sure I'm using them appropriately.

Thanks very much. I am really appreciating the community support for CI as someone who is new to it. Don't know where I'd be without you guys! or gals!

[eluser]johnpeace[/eluser]