Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Controller methodology question

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Code:
Hello everyone!

I’m new to CI but I feel I understand the MVC methodology well enough to be dangerous.  

My question relates to the trade-offs (if any), or best practices when establishing controllers.  For instance, is it “better” to have one controller per view (page) or to lump many views into a master/main controller for the site?

I’m curious if there’s a performance tradeoff or perhaps some long-term maintenance issues that I should consider.

Any advice you care to offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

[eluser]boltsabre[/eluser]
Welcome Trip!

Quote:For instance, is it “better” to have one controller per view (page) or to lump many views into a master/main controller
This link is useful for static pages (ie, contact us, privacy policy, sitemap, terms of use, etc).
One controller, handling many static pages.
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...pages.html

But for non static pages, there is no real true "what is best", it comes down to a combination of personal preference, your design goals, trade-offs from one method compared to another, etc.

For example, you might have a group of use cases all about Cars for Sale.
At first glance it may seem logical to have a controller called "cars" and then all your methods in that one controller. But when you dig a bit deeper, perhaps this is not the best idea because the controller will end up huge with many methods such as:
- create_ad
- edit_ad
- activate_deactivate_ad
- delete_ad
- view_all
- view_details
- filter
- check_is_owner
- contact_owner
- report_abuse
- admin_blacklist
- etc etc.

At this point your controller is going to be HUGE with potentially 1000s of lines of code.