Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Central form handeling

[eluser]GrahamDj28[/eluser]
Hi,

I have been using CI for a few years now, and there is one thing that i do not like. That is the way forms are handled.

Does anybody know of a mechanism to centralize the handling of posted forms so that i don't need to validate in every controller that uses a form? The URL used in the action attribute of the form can then be used to redirect after success or failure. That does mean that the posted forms should always be routed to a single place where all the magic happens.

The routing is not a big deal. The problem is setting the rules for the form. I don't want to define my form in one place and define my rules for that form in another.

Anybody here knows how this can be done?

Thanks!

[eluser]CroNiX[/eluser]
How is CI supposed to override default web behavior by not submitting the form to the url in the Action attribute?

If you really want, you can define all of your validation in a custom library and then just load that library and call the specific method to run validation for that controller.

Code:
if ($this->input->post('submit'))
{
  //if the form was submitted

$this->load->library('forms');
  $passed = $this->forms->validate->some_method_for_this_controller();
  //where some_method_for_this_controller is returning the result of running form_validation->run()
}

Your forms library would load the validation_library in the constructor, and have methods for each form with the rules defined in each method.

[eluser]PhilTem[/eluser]
Technically speaking, the OP might want to create a controller called forms and have each form's action point to
www.example.com/forms/example_form
where a _remap function would catch every call and perform the form-validation based on a hidden input field.