Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Cleaning up reset password module

[eluser]RalphLeMouf[/eluser]
Hello -

I am creating a reset password module for when a user forgets their password. I am actually able to get it to work properly, however I am still getting notices and errors and am a little suspicious of the durability of it all.

I am also not sure I'm retrieving the get value (token) properly from the url as I am trying to compare that to what is stored in the users row in the db.

Here is a link to my module.

I am still fairly new to codeigniter and really appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance

[eluser]apodner[/eluser]
What kind of notices are you getting? More often than not if I get one that is related to a model it is because I forgot to declare a property in the class. If it is a notice in a view or controller, I didn't initialize the variable in the controller (like it is set in the if clause, but not in the else, and the notice gets thrown when the view loads.

for the token:
Code:
$this->input->get('token')

This is better than directly accessing the super global.

Have you considered using the CI form helper class?
http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...elper.html
It meshes very well with the form validation class and also automates CSRF protection if you have it turned on, which for a password function, is probably the way to go.

if you are getting notices in the "retrieve" page, it looks like you are setting the value of the $data['email_error'] after the view loads, so the view is not receiving that array element. If you are echoing that element, that could be where your trouble is.

Hey thanks so much for your response first off!

These are the notices I am getting:

A PHP Error was encountered
Severity: Warning
Filename: controllers/auth.php
Line Number: 193
Severity: Notice
Line Number: 210
Line Number: 210

And this is the reset_password controller with the changes since the original gist I showed you

Code: