Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CI and a user login system, I want to verify if what I think is correct.

[eluser]lanzd[/eluser]
I am new to CI and have some user login code that I currently use and was trying to adapt it for CI. Basically I check the information the user entered against my database and if it is valid I set two cookie variables: user_id and loggin_in. Then on every page which requires restrictions I call a function which takes the user_id cookie and compares it to my database to see if it is a valid user.

For my adaptation I was thinking of just throwing that function into /application/helpers/login_helper.php. I then realized my helpers are not supposed to directly access my models. I found a tutorial on this site: http://www.codefactorycr.com/login-with-...r-php.html which simply wraps the contents of each function which requires restriction in
Code:
if($this->session->userdata('logged_in'))
13    { }
to check the session cookie.

Is this secure because of the settings in CI's config.php:

Code:
$config['encryption_key'] = 'something here';
$config['sess_encrypt_cookie'] = TRUE;
$config['sess_use_database'] = True;

This link here is what I'm referring to: http://ellislab.com/codeigniter/user-gui...sions.html

Quote:When session data is available in a database, every time a valid session is found in the user's cookie, a database query is performed to match it. If the session ID does not match, the session is destroyed. Session IDs can never be updated, they can only be generated when a new session is created.

This automatically encrypts and decrypts the session cookies every time a valid session is found in the user's cookie? Or does this mean it stores each cooking in my database table and checks it for authentication? If the latter is the case, then I'm assuming it stores an array of custom session cookies in the field
Quote:user_data
in the default tables suggested:

Code:
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS  `ci_sessions` (