Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
SQL Injection

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
I am new to CodeIgniter (CI) but I have inherited a CI project as the previous developer left our company. I am supposed to check and report whether the code is vulnerable for SQL injection (and if so rectify it).

For the user login page, the following code is used.

Code:
<?php
class login_model extends CI_Model{

function __construct() {
        parent::__construct();
                $this->load->helper('url');
    }

function login($username,$password)
                 {
                   $this->load->database();
                   $this -> db -> select('user_id, username, password');
                   $this -> db -> from('users');
                   $this -> db -> where('username = ' . "'" . $username . "'");
                   $this -> db -> where('password = ' . "'" . $password . "'");
                   $this -> db -> limit(1);

$query = $this -> db -> get();

if($query -> num_rows() == 1)
                   {
                         return $query->result();
                   }
                   else
                   {
                         return false;
                   }

}

If I give user name as 'David' and password as 'qwerty', I can successfully login to the web based application. That means, there is no error in the php or sql coding.

Therefore I tried the following as my password to attempted an SQL injection.

Code:
qwerty'; SELECT `user_id` FROM (`users`) WHERE `password` = 'qwerty

Then I got the following error, when I clicked the submit button:

Code:
A Database Error Occurred

Error Number: 1064

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'SELECT `user_id` FROM (`users`) WHERE `password` = 'qwerty' LIMIT 1' at line 4