Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
CodeIgniter 3.0-dev question

[eluser]Unknown[/eluser]
Hi everybody,

I've been using CodeIgniter since two years now and I'm quite happy with it! This forum and its community helped me a lot, but I've never posted anything actually. I could not find any information about CI v3 and my questions, so I thought it was time to create an account ;-)

I'm planning to write my own CMS and recently I've looked at some other frameworks like Laravel 4, Kohana and Yii, but I decided to stick with CodeIgniter. I know the framework quite well and I think the documentation is unmatched. It would cost me a lot of time to switch and the benefits of the other frameworks (authentication, ORM, PHP 5.3) can not persuade me.

My CMS will be a long-term project and I want to write something really great so it has not to be ready in a few weeks. With only 10 issues left on GitHub, I'm considering to write it upon the development version of CodeIgniter 3. I think it will cost more rewriting to switch from v2.1.3 to v3, then to switch from v3-dev to the stable version of v3. What do you think about this?

Thanks in advance!

[eluser]Aken[/eluser]
Given the duration terms for your project, I would just start using 3.0. It's already pretty stable, you could potentially help aid development and an earlier stable release, and you could have a product to released based on that version earlier than most others who would wait for the stable release.

[eluser]gabybob[/eluser]
@PBDevelopment

Take a detour http://candlecms.com

FINALLY HERE'S A GED (digital archiving of documents) open source

PHP 5.3 and higher, and higher MYSQL5, Apache2

the DEBIAN Server 7.1 is recommended (very stable)

MLDOCS2 Version 0.9.4.0 is now available with the documentation, it would be that multiple users can test its capabilities and go to a group of developers with a test report.

This version comes from the development version of XOOPS MLDOCS cms.