Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
url

[eluser]regicidedelferoz[/eluser]
good day everyone,

hi, i'm currently studying code igniter and my question is about its URL..

a friend of mine told me that I have to follow the www.domain.com/controller/method/param1/param2/param3 flow of codeigniter..

my current URLnow is www.domain.com/param1/param2/param3 but when i'm calling controller/method i am using the www.domain.com/controller/method/param1/param2/param3

my current route is:
Code:
$route['default_controller'] = "controller"; //default controller

//ajax controller
$route['ajax'] = "ajax";
$route['ajax/(:any)'] = "ajax/$1"; //this follows the www.domain.com/controller/method/param1/param2/param3

//any
$route['(:any)'] = "controller/page/$1"; //the www.domain.com/param1/param2/param3 for displaying pages and its parameters

now my question is.. am I doing the right thing? or my friend is correct that if i would not follow the www.domain.com/controller/method/param1/param2/param3 i should not use codeigniter?

i hope i explained it well..

thanks in advance and more power,
- regicide

[eluser]Harold Villacorte[/eluser]
CI allows you to use convention over configuration. So if you follow the normal controller design convention the routing is done automatically. But as you can see by what you are doing, configuration is also an option but not mandatory. With some other frameworks there is no automatic routing, you have to configure it every time.

hello sir harold, thanks for the reply..

in your opinion, should i have to pursue the controller design convention used in CI or i can still go with my configuration?

- regicide