Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Load default but dynamic view in any controller?

[eluser]Sky Warden[/eluser]
Hello everyone. I'm pretty new to Code Igniter and haven't learned many things about it, so please help me.

I'm making a website which has the same template for any pages. Like a page to show video, read articles, etc. All pages have the same template. It will have a header, a left and top navigation. The left navigation and the header will show different values, depending on the page. Like if it's the home page, the header will print "Home." Just like this in page controller :

Code:
function index($page = 'home')
{
  $data['title'] = ucfirst($page);
  $this->load->view('templates/template_header', $data);
                $this->load->view('templates/template_banner');
                $this->load->view('templates/template_left_navigation', $data);
                $this->load->view('pages/'.$page, $data);
                $this->load->view('templates/template_footer');
        }

The problem is, I have to retype those codes manually in other controllers. Like for the registration controller and upload_video controller. The login form is on the header, so the user can login from any page. The form validation error can't be shown properly as well. I think I need a separated controller and view to do that. That's also the problem.

What I want is to show the login form on every page. The login form will send the input to login controller. Login controller will process that input, and send validation error if there's any. The login controller load no view other than the templates (login form, etc). After that, the user is redirected to the previous page he visited.

Hmm. Pretty confusing. Let me give an example :
1. User visit about page.
2. It loads templates, which includes the login form, and the view('pages/about');
3. User use the login form.
4. The login form sends the input to login_controller.