Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
Username or Email

[eluser]Kemik[/eluser]
Hello,

Do you use usernames to login to your apps, allowing the change of email addresses (but the email must be unique) or do you use email addresses to login to your apps, allowing the change of usernames?

I'm faced with that dilemma for my new project. Half of the current "like" sites use email as the identifier and allow users to select their own username. As long as the username is unique they allow the change via their "edit profile" page. The user's email can also be changed but must be unique, however email is used to login.

The other half of "like" sites, mainly forums such as vBulletin, PHPBB, etc use usernames. Usernames in these apps cannot be changed, the emails can.

So, what system do you use and why?

[eluser]BizComputing[/eluser]
As a consultant, I usually have to follow what the client chooses.

Personal choice and what I recommend, go with usernames and both username and email are changeable. Internally links to the user are tracked via an arbitrary id, so username only needs to be unique rather than also forcing it to also be locked in.

[eluser]Isern Palaus[/eluser]
Hello Kemik,

When I program something that the only users will be a little group of people i prefer usernames and I allow to them to change their own e-mail (by the way, I've never use it for nothing).

Recently I've programed a website for my high school, then I allow to login students like me with the Fiscal Identification Number (DNI in Spain) or the username that the secretary sets (first name letter and first surname, if It's 2 usernames equal at the second we add a n+1 where N=0).

Now I've in my mind a big site to develop and I'll use e-mails (unique) to login and the username could be changed. Why? Probably because It's not the most important what the username says.

Sorry for my school English.

Regards,
-- Isern Palaus

[eluser]Aea[/eluser]