Welcome Guest, Not a member yet? Register   Sign In
load data using jquery .change event from a method

[eluser]imcody[/eluser]
hello I am new to codeigniter,

what I am trying to do is -- On change of the dropdown select item, I want to load the roles of the respective departments in the same view. I want another dropdown select box to be loaded when the first select element is changed in the same view while calling a method from the controller which will call another method of the model which load the roles.

Please help me on this, I know this is really simple, and I have done it in other platform almost thousand times, but I am kind of stuck.

Please!!!

Here is my Model:

Code:
class User extends CI_Model
{
public function getDepartment()
{
  $this->db->select('*');
  $this->db->from('school_dept');
  $query = $this->db->get();
  return $query->result();
}

public function getRolesByDepartment($deptid)
{
  $this->db->select('*');
  $this->db->from('school_user_role');
  $this->db->where('dept_id = ' . "'" . $deptid . "'");
  $query = $this->db->get();
  return $query->result();
}
}

Here is my controller:

Code:
<?php if ( ! defined('BASEPATH')) exit('No direct script access allowed');

class str extends CI_Controller {
function str(){
  parent::__construct();
  $this->load->model('user','',TRUE);
}

public function index(){
  $data = array();
  $data['depart'] = $this->user->getDepartment();
  $this->load->view('str', $data);
}

public function AjaxLoader($deptid){
  $data = array();
  $data['charDivVars'] = $this->user->getRolesByDepartment($deptid);
                [quote]// I don't know what to write here..........[/quote]
}
}
?>

Here is my view:

Code:
<html>
<head>
[removed][removed]
[removed]
$(document).ready(function(){
  $("#select").change(function(){
   var selectVal = $('#select :selected').val();
   $.ajax({
   url: "<?php echo site_url('str/AjaxLoader/') ?>" + selectVal ",
   type: "POST",
   data: selectVal,
   success: function(msg){